Explore the opportunities for scholarship funding from the Community Foundation of Greater Memphis. Unless specifically noted, scholarship award amounts average between $500 and $1,500. 

The online application process for 2018-19 is closed.

For graduating high school seniors

Don Poier Memorial Scholarship - assists well-rounded, public high school students living in Shelby County, TN who demonstrate strong character and are actively involved in school and the community. The scholarship must be used towards the student’s freshman year of college. Please note: this scholarship application was due Friday, February 23, 2018.  Learn more.

Community Scholarship - The Community Foundation of Greater Memphis offers a scholarship to one or more outstanding students living in the metropolitan Memphis area who are civically engaged. Learn more.

Constance Butler Goforth Scholarship - honors Mrs. Constance Butler Goforth and is awarded to applicants displaying academic excellence, community service, and financial need. A scholarship recipient may reapply up to three times for a total of four awards over four years. Learn more.

Maxine A. Smith Scholarship - honors Maxine A. Smith and is awarded to graduating high school seniors who have participated in the ACT-SO (Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics) program. This is a one-time scholarship opportunity. Please note the application deadline has been extended to Monday, April 16. Learn more.

Ruby Holmes Hefley Scholarship - provides for the children of parents with disabilities. The applicant’s study may be in any academic area. Learn more.

Laura Kaye Memorial Scholarship - open to students employed by Kaye’s, and children or grandchildren of persons employed by Kaye’s. Learn more.

Binswanger Enterprise Scholarship - offers scholarships for post-secondary undergraduate education for legally dependent children of regular, full-time employees of Binswanger Enterprises who have completed at least one year of service with the company. Learn more.

Claude P. Thompson Scholarship - provides support to further the post-secondary education of students residing in a non-traditional home or to further the education of a single parent. Learn more.

Ruth H. Mims Scholarship - honors the memory of Ruth Holmes Mims, and seeks to make it possible for deserving students have a chance to attend college. Learn more.

Annie Ervin Willis Scholarship - provide financial support to African-American students who are committed to community service as evidenced by active and consistent involvement with service organizations working to improve their communities. Learn more.

For students attending specific high schools

Allen Jones/Marjorie Barringer/Bar-Kays Scholarship - benefits graduating Shelby County Schools high school seniors who will attend LeMoyne-Owen College. Learn more.

The Original Fayette County Civic and Welfare League Scholarship - advances the educational opportunities of African-American students graduating from a public high school in Fayette County to create a more just nation and world. Learn more.

Harold and Ida Jamison Scholarship - provides support to African-American, graduating high school seniors from Booker T. Washington High School and/or Metropolitan Baptist Church in Memphis, Tennessee. Learn more.

Indian Community of Memphis Scholarship
- provides aid to students who are in need of financial assistance.  Students must be seniors graduating from Booker T. Washington, Central, East, Frayser, Kirby, Overton, or Whitehaven High Schools. Learn more.

Joseph W. Westbrook Melrose Scholarship - annually benefits one Melrose High School student. Learn more.

Kicklighter Family Scholarship - provides financial support to graduates of Raleigh-Egypt High School who have the interest and drive to pursue higher education, but who may not be able to further their education without financial support.  Learn more.

Kylen C. Bares Memorial Scholarship - assists at least one student annually from the Memphis Academy of Science and Engineering and/or a Shelby County Schools high school. This includes charter schools, contract schools, and public high schools within Shelby County Schools. Learn more.

Mykea Rainey Memorial Scholarship - honors Mykea Andrea Rainey and is awarded to graduating seniors of Shelby County Schools high schools, not including charter schools, to help achieve the dream of completing a post-secondary education. Learn more.

Sierra Simone Wright Scholarship - provides a graduating senior of Booker T. Washington High School financial assistance to attend a four-year college or university. Learn more.

Stephen Lowe Memorial Scholarship - assists Bolton High School students and students who attend Faith Baptist Church in Bartlett. Learn more

For students pursuing specific areas of study

Abell Family String Scholarship - This scholarship honors the work of Usher Abell and Jack Abell in the realm of stringed music education, student mentoring, and increased access to instruments and quality teachers for all who want to learn. It is meant for those who might not otherwise have the opportunity to become musicians themselves. Learn more.

Helen S. Blair Memorial Scholarship - This scholarship provides for undergraduate and graduate students who aspire to earn a college degree which includes a minimum of 12 semester hours in the Finnish language, Finnish culture, and/or Finnish studies. Applications may also be submitted for accredited study abroad assistance programs. Learn more.

James A. Hyter Vocal Music Scholarship - This scholarship provides college scholarships to students with vocal talent and a love of music in memory of James A. Hyter. Learn more.

Mildred Galloway Scholarship - This scholarship honors Mildred Galloway and is awarded to a student from Shelby County Schools whose high school study is in the area of Family and Consumer Sciences. Learn more.

For adult learners

Please note: These scholarships are due Friday, June 1, 2018.

Edna Fant McConnell Scholarship
- supports and encourages single mothers as they pursue careers in their chosen professions. Learn more.

Josh Fielder Memorial Scholarship - provides adults the opportunity to pursue higher education later in life. Learn more.

Claude P. Thompson Scholarship - provides support to further the post-secondary education of students residing in a non-traditional home or to further the education of a single parent. Learn more.